Do you get annoyed when someone calls you and tells them they are busy? Call them back a few more minutes later to make it clear.
If you’re in, I’m in.
It has happened several times and I was curious to know what “User Busy” means.
To learn more, I did this.
This guide is a result of extensive research. It should explain what “User Busy” means on your iPhone.
If you call someone using your iPhone, the “User Busy” message will let you know that they are on another call. It is better to wait.
What does “User Busy” mean?
You will see the word “User busy” if you look at the name of the person you are trying to contact. This is likely because he is having another conversation on his phone.
Because of the way phones work, multiple people cannot be reached except if one calls.
Priority is given for the current call. The lines will remain open for calls even after the call has ended.
Why does my iPhone show the “User Busy” message?
You may not be receiving the message due to the fact that the person on the other line is on another call.
Sometimes you may get “User Busy”, however, this is very rare.
This can happen if you are trying to reach someone who has an alert slider (e.g. the iPhone or OnePlus) or if they have turned the alert slider off.
However, nine out of ten times, you will get the busy message because the person on the other line is unavailable.
Verify the recipient is actually working
It doesn’t mean you have to stop trying to reach the recipient. Instead, make another call to confirm that they are not busy.
Send them a message and wait to see whether they read it.
If they do not respond, confirm that they are not on the line and then attempt to reach them.
You can also ask them to return your call using a text message if they are not able to reach you by text.
Waiting refers to a time period.
You can hold off until you’re certain that the other person is available.
After you attempt to reach the message, you will receive a message stating “User Busy”. You can wait for the message to clear before you try again.
Keep waiting and trying until you connect.
You can also text your friend to let them know you tried to reach out to them for a while.
Make a “User Busy” Message for Yourself
Anyone who calls you can easily see the “User Busy” message.
You can do this by disabling Do Not Disturb for iPhone.
You can do this on iOS 15
- Start the Settings app.
- Choose Focus.
- Select Do Not Disturb.
- You can control how notifications are sent.
You can also turn it on using the Control Center by opening it and clicking Focus.
You can then turn on Do Not Disturb.
For iOS 14 and older:
- Open Settings.
- Go to Do Not Disturb.
- DND can be turned off or set a schedule.
You can do this from the Control Center by clicking on the crescent moon icon in the panel.
You can leave a voicemail if you haven’t heard back from the person, even if they don’t answer your calls.
You can send messages to your cell provider and not have to call. You might be able use these features if you have the same provider that the person you are calling.
Spectrum Landline accounts can be used to block calls or appear busy by calling the Call Guard service.
The Most Commonly Asked Questions
How can you tell if someone is using a different iPhone?
You can check the Truecaller app on your smartphone to see if someone is available.
You can also dial their number to find out if they are available for a call.
How do you know if your iPhone has been blocked?
To confirm that you’re not blocked, check if messages sent through iMessage have been delivered.
If you send a message to the app and it refuses to deliver it, you may be blocked.
Other channels can be used to send polite messages.
Will iMessage still be delivered even if it is blocked?
The app will notify you if you are blocked on iMessage that your message has not been delivered.